NTPOG Forums  

Go Back   NTPOG Forums > Fourth Gen Prelude Discussion

Fourth Gen Prelude Discussion Topics relevant to 4th Gen Preludes

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-21-2007, 11:27 AM   #1
sean1121
Comfortably Numb
 
sean1121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Total Perspective Vortex
Posts: 4,564
Default EL Cluster Digital Odometer Modification

*SUCCESS!*

*DISCLAIMER*
This is in NO way intended to help you commit odometer fraud. This is purely for informational purposes. I started this because I wanted to increase the mileage on my digital odometer to read the same as my current odometer reading. If you want to commit odometer fraud then go somewhere else. This is still very much a work in progress, I'm still not 100% on how the mileage info is stored and how it all relates.

Why change the odometer:

I picked up a 94 4ws EL cluster. I wanted the new odometer to read close to the 220000 that's on my odometer now.

Supplies needed:
Solder Iron
Desolder Braid
2 8-DIP IC sockets
Hex Editor
EEPROM Programmer

The data for the digital odometer in the EL clusters is stored in 2 serial eeproms as seen here:


The chips are OKI 16911 1024 bit serial eeproms. You can program them by selecting AT59C11 in your programmer. I've removed the chips and installed sockets in their place for easy testing. The original odometer reading was 195076. I put the chips in my trusty eeprom programmer and dumped the contents to disk. This is what we find:

Code:
00000000   50 19 50 19 50 19 50 19  50 19 50 19 50 19 50 19  50 19 50 19 50 19 50 19  50 19 50 19 50 19 50 19
00000020   50 19 50 19 50 19 50 19  50 19 50 19 50 19 50 19  50 19 50 19 50 19 50 19  50 19 50 19 50 19 50 19
00000040   50 19 50 19 50 19 50 19  50 19 50 19 50 19 49 19  49 19 49 19 49 19 49 19  49 19 49 19 49 19 49 19
00000060   49 19 49 19 FF FF FF FF  FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF  FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF  FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF
No problem right?! The data on both chips was the same. The mileage is stored here: 50 19. I changed all the 19s to 22s and the mileage came out to be 225077. Once you make your changes you'll need to write the bin file to both of the chips and reinstall them.

More pics:
http://simnets.com/gallery2/v/prelude/EL_Cluster/

Took the car for a test drive, the new odometer reading doesn't reset!
__________________
-93 Prelude Si 4ws - RIP
-94 Prelude Si - RIP
-92 Prelude Si - SOLD

Last edited by sean1121; 10-23-2007 at 09:39 PM.
sean1121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2007, 01:45 PM   #2
digitaltrance
Member
 
digitaltrance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 195
Default

Interesting it's in HEX....
Nice work, I dont think anyone has dont this...at least to my knowledge.
__________________
-Charlie/prelude2005

-Representin' the 4th gen crew-
digitaltrance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2007, 05:20 PM   #3
remy525
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3
Default

dude youre like neo from the matrix.
remy525 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2007, 07:24 PM   #4
sean1121
Comfortably Numb
 
sean1121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Total Perspective Vortex
Posts: 4,564
Default

*UPDATE: It works!*

I finally found the correct settings to use in the EEPROM programmer to write to the OKI 16911G chips in the odometer. The odometer doesn't reset every time you restart the car!
__________________
-93 Prelude Si 4ws - RIP
-94 Prelude Si - RIP
-92 Prelude Si - SOLD
sean1121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2007, 09:02 PM   #5
chester
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Lexington, KY
Posts: 321
Default

Excellent work! You cured a disease that has plagued the Superior Beings for years!
__________________
2001 Mazda Miata SE #2122 of 3000

Quote:
Originally Posted by petern101 View Post
jazz + cigar + bj = awesome
chester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2009, 04:48 PM   #6
ludeanduncalledfor
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

that is some scientifical ass shit. im jealous!
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2013, 01:59 PM   #7
w1ll14m
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 11
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sean1121 View Post
*UPDATE: It works!*

I finally found the correct settings to use in the EEPROM programmer to write to the OKI 16911G chips in the odometer. The odometer doesn't reset every time you restart the car!
I'm sorry to revive this old thread but I would like to know what kind of eeprom programmer you've used and the settings you where required to change.

Right now i'm replacing my non el cluster (260.000 km) with an el cluster (186.000 km) But I'm having a hard time reading the 16911G chips.
I use a willem PCB5.5C and I tried 93cxx and at59c11 but I only get FF. Is there anything I might have missed?
w1ll14m is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2013, 09:16 PM   #8
sean1121
Comfortably Numb
 
sean1121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Total Perspective Vortex
Posts: 4,564
Default

Weird. I'll dig out my eeprom programmer tomorrow and get the model. Can you post the bins off the chips?
__________________
-93 Prelude Si 4ws - RIP
-94 Prelude Si - RIP
-92 Prelude Si - SOLD
sean1121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2013, 05:56 AM   #9
w1ll14m
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 11
Default

This is all I get when reading the chip. I've tried to read an old bios chip to verify that my parallel port and programmer are functioning with good results so I doubt that my programmer might be faulty. I put back the chips and the odometer could display the mileage so the chips aren't damaged either. It seems like I'm a little stuck here.

Code:
00000000   FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF  FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF
00000010   FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF  FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF
00000020   FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF  FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF
00000030   FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF  FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF
00000040   FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF  FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF
00000050   FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF  FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF
00000060   FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF  FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF
00000070   FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF  FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF
w1ll14m is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2013, 07:18 AM   #10
sean1121
Comfortably Numb
 
sean1121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Total Perspective Vortex
Posts: 4,564
Default

I was using a BK Precision model 845.
__________________
-93 Prelude Si 4ws - RIP
-94 Prelude Si - RIP
-92 Prelude Si - SOLD
sean1121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2013, 02:21 AM   #11
w1ll14m
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 11
Default

Ok thanks. I've ordered a few at59c11 to play with and maybe today i'll receive another programmer. If that programmer doesn't work I have found some schematics for an serial programmer that can program the at59c1. I'll post the results later.
w1ll14m is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2013, 05:36 AM   #12
w1ll14m
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 11
Default

My Willem programmer is able to read and write my new at59c11 eeprom's, this looks promising
w1ll14m is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2013, 02:46 PM   #13
w1ll14m
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 11
Default

Yup i've had succes.
What I did:
Set LPT1 port to ECP
Used a breadboard to make sure that chip is set to 16bit
Configured ic prog to use my willem (invert data out)
Used IC-Prog to program the chips (ic prog only supports 16bit for at59cxx)

Thanks for the help
w1ll14m is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2013, 03:21 PM   #14
sean1121
Comfortably Numb
 
sean1121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Total Perspective Vortex
Posts: 4,564
Default

Awesome, sounds a little crazier than my setup.
__________________
-93 Prelude Si 4ws - RIP
-94 Prelude Si - RIP
-92 Prelude Si - SOLD
sean1121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2013, 03:26 PM   #15
w1ll14m
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 11
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sean1121 View Post
Awesome, sounds a little crazier than my setup.
It seems like my programmer has some bugs Ohh and i killed all the 16911 eeproms. Probably half of them got to hot while removing them from the board. The others probably didn't survive a wrong wire from icsp (12 volts ) So after some tweaking and new eeproms (at59c11) everything works
w1ll14m is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2013, 01:26 PM   #16
w1ll14m
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 11
Default

Everything works except... eh... saving new data. So i took out the lude to make a test drive after installing the new EL Cluster. It displays the correct mileage. While driving it updates the mileage but when I power down my engine and restart it the mileage gone back to what I programmed. So i'm still figuring that out.
w1ll14m is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2014, 08:38 PM   #17
gman89
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 1
Default

Newbie here to this forum, and sorry to revive this old thread but I wanted to ask sean1121 or w1ll14m a few questions. 1st) On the Serial Eeproms, what brand or model number did you guys use? 2nd) Where did you buy them at? Looked everywhere and cant find them. 3rd) How where you able to make it so that the mileage didn't reset every time you turned the vehicle off? Would greatly appreciate any help from you guys. Thanks.
gman89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2014, 08:56 PM   #18
w1ll14m
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 11
Default

I have used at59c11 chips as replacement for the stock oki16911g. But the new mileage is not written to the chips somehow it always reset to the value that i programmed into the chips. So i ordered a few oki16911g but have been unable to read or write them. And at this moment my prelude is in storage because i've bought a house and needed to drive a diesel because of my distance to my work. But when money allows i'll continue on this. If you need new oki 16911g you can them by some chinese guys. jack [_at_] zhw-ic [dotcom]. Found him on alibaba.com

Last edited by w1ll14m; 01-25-2014 at 10:11 PM.
w1ll14m is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2016, 06:06 PM   #19
bb4rank
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 2
Default

I know im new to this forum but I have been more active on preludeonline.com and preludepower under the same username. Im hoping to revive this thread since this is the only information out there right now for undertaking this task. I am currently attempting to do the same while doing the EL swap in my 1992 4ws, one of two 4th gens Ive owned for 8 years, but im having issues. I am using the EETools Chipmax programmer and the supplied software which I purchased used of course. It does support the Atmel at59c11 chip, and I have success reading the data on both chips but after modifying the data in the buffer, Im getting a program error while trying to program the chips. Both chips are still readable with data on them so I know they are not damaged. Do I have to set the chip into erase/write enable mode somehow?
bb4rank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2016, 06:20 PM   #20
sean1121
Comfortably Numb
 
sean1121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Total Perspective Vortex
Posts: 4,564
Default

I don't remember having to do anything like that, but my programmer was different as well. What happens if you try and erase the chip?
__________________
-93 Prelude Si 4ws - RIP
-94 Prelude Si - RIP
-92 Prelude Si - SOLD
sean1121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2017, 10:46 PM   #21
bb4rank
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 2
Default

So after months of trial and error between 4 different programmers, I finally found a sure way of doing this. I first purchased one of the MiniPro Tl866 programmers off eBay figuring it would support the AT59c11, but to my disappointment it doesn't. I contacted the company asking them to add it to the list off devices on their next update but I haven't received a reply since.


I then purchased an EETools Chipmax programmer for a low price locally and because it did support the at59c11 chip, however between trying old and new software, a 64 bit and 32 bit computer, the only thing I was able to do was read the data on the chip , but couldn't program the new data in the buffer back to the chips. I purchased a set of new OKI MSM16911G chips thinking there was an issue with supplying the erase/write instruction from the programmer or to the old chips and I figured it was cheap insurance to have spares on hand. After trying to figure out why I was getting a programming error when I try to write to the chips for over a month, I decided Id go out and buy a new Chipmax 2 programmer thinking this would resolve my problem. Unfortunately I was still hitting the same brick wall and realized the Maxloader software the programmers share was the culprit. I even tried programming with the chip set in 8 bit organization without luck. Since the BK Precision 845 the OP used is discountinued I decided I might try a different BK Precision programmer since they share the same software. So I figured Id at least download the software and take it for a spin to see how well its built. Right away you can tell the software blows everything else Ive used out of the water. Very detailed, lots of help, and smooth operation (Works on Windows 10). I went ahead an purchased a BK Precision 844USB model programmer and when it arrived, it was as easy as plugging it in, firing up the software, let it detect the programmer and off you are. I read, modified and programmed both chips in under 5 minutes. Not a single issue during either stage. You can program the chips by selecting either the OKI MSM16911G which BK Precision supports of the Atmel AT59C11 but as stated earlier by the OP with mileage restarts, I decided to just program them under the AT59C11 chip. Of course keep in mind the BK Precision 844USB set me back $540.

After months of headaches, it was so good to finally not have to convert mileages between my two clusters when writing down mileage for maintenance records. All along I was going through the process of color changing my cluster using different types of colored plastic sheets I kept ordering online to find the combo that didnt kill the light output, yet still put out the correct color. In my case I did blue and the paper that finally worked was Hygloss Cello Sheets I found on Amazon.
bb4rank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2017, 01:15 PM   #22
Prelude92
WTB poke!
 
Prelude92's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Houston
Posts: 100
Default

This is awesome. Took me 2 years to come back on a forum. A google search for blinking odometer got me here. Glad this was updated and i want in on this. But i dont have funds for a programmer.
Prelude92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
& The North Texas Prelude Owner's Group